April-May Ostrander Library Events

Delaware County District Library Ostrander Branch
75 N. 4th Street 740-666-1410 www.delawarelibrary.org
Hours: Tuesday-Thursday 10-8 & Friday & Saturday 10-4

Family Story Times Every Thursday at 10:30 AM – For children 6 and under

April

Tuesday, April 12 @ 7:00 PM Cookbook Club
Home by Bryan Voltaggio Adult Program

Wednesday, April 13 @ 4:00 PM Kid’s Cookbook Club
Cooking Rocks by Rachel Ray Ages 6-11

Tuesday, April 19 @ 7:00 PM You Can Do It!
Fun With Washi by Jessica Okui Adult Craft Program

Wednesday, April 20 @ 6:30 PM Child/Parent Book Discussion
The California Gold Rush by Elizabeth Raum Ages 6-13

Tuesday, April 26 @ 7:00 PM Adult Book Discussion
The 5th Wave by Richard Yancey Adult Program

Wednesday, April 27 @ 4:00 PM Book Bunch: Gadget Lab
Ages 6-11

May

Tuesday, May 3 @ 6:30 PM American Girl Party
Family Program

Thursday, May 5 @ 6:30 PM Make It, Take It: Henna Teen/Tween Program

Saturday, May 7 @ 1:00 PM LEGO Club: World of Racing Ages 5-11

Tuesday, May 10 @ 7:00 PM Local History Walk
Family Program

Wednesday, May 11 @ 4:00 PM
Kid’s Cookbook Club
The Cookbook for Kids by Lisa Atwood Ages 6-11

Friday, May 13 @ 10:30 AM Homeschool Book Club: Fun Favorites All Reading Levels

Saturday, May 14 @ 11:00 AM PAWS for Reading
Readers Ages 5-11 Pre-registration Required

Tuesday, May 17 @ 7:00 PM
You Can Do It!
Crafting a Colorful Home by Kristin Nicholas Adult Craft Program

Wednesday, May 18 @ 6:30 PM Child/Parent Book Discussion
The Dark Hills Divide by Patrick Carman Ages 6-13

Tuesday, May 24 @ 7:00 PM
Adult Book Discussion
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler Adult Program

Thursday, May 26 @ 6:30 PM De-Stress With Yoga
Adult Program Pre-registration Required

Generosity Award Nominations

Please see the attached from the Delaware County Foundation.  They are looking for nominations of deserving folks to be recognized for their exceptional philanthropic and volunteer contributions in Delaware County.  The different catagories that one can be nominated for are outstanding youth or youth group, outstanding business, outstanding volunteer, and the Spirit of Philanthropy Award.  The requirements for each catagory are listed on the attached nomination form.

If you know someone deserving please complete the Nomination Form 1-28-2016.

School Committee

The Council for the Village of Ostrander will be forming a School Committee to discuss and decide options for the public use of West Elementary school in Ostrander. For this committee we are seeking local residents that want to help or have experience in any of the following areas: Engineering, Real Estate, Economics, or Contractors and Builders – particularly HVAC, electrical and plumbing contractors. We will be holding meetings to discuss all possible ideas for the building and what the residents would like to see happen to the school. We also will be discussing expenses and ideas to raise money to maintain the building. Please join us…we welcome and encourage everyone to attend. Meetings will likely begin in mid-April.

Please use the Contact Us link to express interest in helping us out.

Delaware County District Library Events in March

Delaware County District Library Events in March:
 
Homeschool Book Club Friday, March 11 @ 10:30 All About Art
 
You Can Do It!
Adult Craft Program Tuesday, March 15 @ 7 PM
 
Child/Parent Book Discussion Wednesday, March 16 @ 6:30 PM Spaceheadz by Jon Scieszka
 
Paws for Reading
Saturday, March 19 @ 11 AM Pre-registration Required
 
Adult Book Discussion
Tuesday, March 22 @ 7 PM
The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
 
Book Bunch: Cryptozoology Wednesday, March 23 @ 4 PM Ages 6-11
 
Yoga for Relaxation
Tuesday, March 24 @ 6:30 PM Registration required
Adult Program
 
Spring Break @ the Library Wednesday, March 30
Family Program beginning @ 1 PM

Zoning Officer Vacancy

The Village of Ostrander is seeking a zoning officer. The position is part-time and the individual should be familiar with zoning laws and regulations. Interested parties should contact the Mayor or a member of Council.

Lutheran Social Services

Lutheran Social Services and several of the local churches will be conducting food distributions the first Wednesday of each month from noon until 2:00 pm.

The summer schedule (April thru November) location is at the Methodist Church at 177 W. North Street in Ostrander.

The winter schedule (December thru March) location is at the Scioto Township Fire House at 3737 Ostrander Road.

To check eligibility, call Lutheran Social Services at 740.362.5652

Traffic Pattern Changes in Ostrander

For Immediate Release from the Village of Ostrander
In order to improve safety to students, pedestrians, and vehicles on Third Street in the vicinity of Buckeye Valley West Elementary, a resolution has been passed by the Ostrander Village Council to modify the existing traffic patterns.
The traffic changes are as follows:
1.  No left turn onto Third Street  from the alley south of West Elementary during school hours;
2. No right turn from the gravel parking lot north of West Elementary onto Third Street during school hours; and
3. Pedestrian traffic crossing Third Street will be directed to the crosswalk near North Street during school hours.
Please heed these new traffic changes to help keep our community safe.

Council News

Mayor Larry Crile began another 4-year term at the last council meeting and Julie Guy and Robert Taylor were sworn in for their respective 4-year terms. Robert Taylor was re-elected Council President for 2016. Clerk Dorothy Wilcox was also re-elected in November and will be sworn in March 2016.

Three new committees were formed and will be seeking resident participation in the coming months:

School Building Committee – to investigate possible uses for the soon-to-be vacated West Elementary. (Robert Taylor, Julie Guy)

Park Committee – look into potential future park space and uses (Tracy Stojkov, Kelly Osborne)

Funding Committee – to investigate potential funding streams for street maintenance needs (Joe Proemm, Renee Kuhn)

Winter Happenings at the Ostrander Library

Winter Happenings at the Ostrander Branch!
75 N. 4th St
740-666-1410
www.delawarelibrary.org
Open Hours: Tuesday-Thursday 10-8 & Friday & Saturday 10-4

Family Story Times every Thursday @ 10:30 AM Beginning Thursday, January 7

Adult Book Discussion
Tuesday, December 22 @ 7 PM Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger

Gaming Day
Tuesday, December 29 – 12-7:00 PM Family Program

Lego Club
Saturday, January 2 @ 1 PM For Ages 5-11

Celebrate Music Family Night Tuesday, January 5 @ 6:30
Family Program for children of all ages

Make It! Take It!
Teen/Tween Program Thursday, January 4 @ 6:30 PM Food Experiment Science

Homeschool Book Club Friday, January 8 @ 10:30 AM All Reading Levels Welcome Awesome Antarctic Pre-registration Required

Paws For Reading
Saturday, January 9 @ 11 AM Pre-registration Required Ages 5-11

Local History Night: Scioto Township 101 Tuesday, January 12 @ 7 PM
Adult Program

Kid’s Cookbook Club Wednesday, January 13 @ 4 PM Mug It! By Pam McElroy
Ages 6-11

Make It!
Tuesday, January 19 @ 7PM Adult Craft Program
Wise Craft by Blair Stocker

Child/Parent Book Discussion
Wednesday, January 20 @ 6:30 PM
You Wouldn’t Want to be a Worker on the Statue of Liberty By John Malam
Ages 6-11

Adult Book Discussion Tuesday, January 26 @ 7 PM The Martian by Andy Weir Adult Program

Book Bunch
Wednesday, January 27 @ 4 PM Puppets-a-Plenty
Ages 6-11

Strategy Games
Saturday, January 30 @ 1 PM Family Program